The last few days have been full of canning. Salsa, salsa verde, tomato juice, tomatoes, tomato sauce with meat, pizza sauce, tomato relish. I’m sure you’re noticing a pattern. We picked about 20 gallons of tomatoes last monday (sept 3), so they HAD to be used.

I’ve been going over to Jordan’s great-aunt Esther’s house to can in her basement kitchen. Wow, wouldn’t that be handy to have? Well, it’s actually pretty nice to have one at someone else’s house, because then they can babysit your kids while you work!

 

So here’s the “laboratory”

Hmm, too conspicuous? How about this:

See? Great right?! So, I did A LOT of tomatoes, but I thought maybe a show-and-tell on tomatillos was in order. They are actually related to the gooseberry. I’ve read a lot of sites that say to wait to harvest until the fruit fills the paper lantern (as I like to call it). But I think you probably shouldn’t wait that long. Basically, if you feel something solid with a gentle squeeze of the paper lantern, you can pick. Here they are before husking:

 

And after:

As you can see, they are all different sizes and shades, but all ready to be picked. When you husk them, you’ll feel a sticky substance on the fruit. Rinse that before cooking. Then I cut mine in half and put them in a big roasting pan along with quartered onions, stemmed jalapenos and whole garlic cloves.

Roast for about 20 mins then put it all in a blender. Add salt, a little vinegar, and cilantro to taste, water bath for 30 mins and you’re done. That’s like the easiest salsa ever.

Here’s an image-of-caution on keeping your jars hot before putting in the boiling water bath:

Yeah, that was fun to clean up.

I also created a recipe that might change your mind about eggplant. See that in the wcydwtv page.

