I think the sprouts from last post must be getting me in the mood to start posting again. I fell off the wagon for so long, I suppose it feels good to be back, despite all my personal issues about blogging, such as there are millions, and the world DOES NOT need another string of random personal insights. I’m sorry to say, I believe the large majority of blogs should simply be personal journals. A personal journal, in those cases, would be more valuable to the blogger because of the privacy which allows for true authenticity, as well as the ability to shield themselves from who-knows-what might be done with their post in the future. Unfortunately, the world has forgotten the purpose and usefulness of this “very good” (similar-to-God’s-perspective-on-creation “good”) exercise and venue.

Nevertheless, our hopes for Glacier Gardens are large, and I feel like a blog is an important foundation for helping them come about. In our case, I view the blog as more a long-game marketing medium.

Moving on, here’s a super simple, super tasty breakfast casserole. We’re fortunate enough to get local, naturally-raised pork sausage from The Hermans (where we also butcher chickens and get our eggs), and we’re still using our frozen peppers from last year. They are so fantastic for any kind of cooking, but not for eating fresh. Today I tossed a handful on top of the casserole. Delicious!

20130415-134132.jpg

Easy Sausage & Egg Casserole

– Bread slices to cover bottom of pan
– 6 eggs
– 2 cups milk
– 1 lb (or less) sharp cheddar, grated
– 1 lb (or less) sausage, browned and drained
* optional: peppers, onions, or other veggies

Grease 9×13 pan. Line with bread. Sprinkle cheese over bread. Beat egg and milk; pour over cheese. Spread meat and veggies over top. Bake at 375 for 35 minutes, or until center is no longer runny.

I made a smaller casserole because today it’s just me and the kids for lunch.

20130415-134053.jpg

Also, I thought I’d show you a bag from my eggshell stash. Every time I make something that calls for more than one egg, I pull out the bag from the freezer and toss in the eggshells. I’ll put them in the ground under my tomatoes again, like last year.

20130415-134148.jpg

